This event has passed.
  • Monday Dec 01 2014 until Thursday Dec 18 2014 from 08:00 pm until 10:00 pm
  • Friday Dec 19 2014 from 08:30 pm until 10:30 pm
  • Saturday Dec 20 2014 until Sunday Dec 21 2014 from 06:00 pm until 10:00 pm
  • Monday Dec 22 2014 until Tuesday Dec 23 2014 from 08:00 pm until 10:00 pm
  • Beirut, Lebanon
  • Arts & Culture, Music, Family & Kids, Other

Beirut Chants Festival 2014 - Full program

Beirut Chants 7th Edition
1 - 23 December 2014

For 23 days of events during each year-end, we welcome performers from all over the world, both established and emerging, to share the Christmas festive spirit in the many beautiful and historic Churches of the heart of Beirut.



Program Below:

- Monday 1 December 2014 – Opening Concert
Abdel Rahman El Bacha, Piano
St. George Maronite Cathedral | Riad El Solh, Facing Azarieh | 20:00

- Tuesday 2 December 2014
Méditerranée Sacrée
Chœur de chambre les Éléments dirigé par Joël Suhubiette
St. Maron Church | Gemmayzeh | 20:00
En collaboration avec l’Institut français du Liban
et en partenariat avec la Ville de Toulouse et l’Institut français de Paris.

- Wednesday 3 December 2014
Naji Hakim, Organ
Sacré-Coeur Church | Gemmayzeh | 20:00

- Thursday 4 December 2014
The Essential
Xavier De Maistre, Harp
St. Maron Church | Gemmayzeh | 20:00
First harpist of the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra.
First prize, International Harp Competition of Bloomington, Indiana.

- Friday 5 December 2014
Armenian Traditional Christmas
Groong Choir, Conducted by Edward Torikian
St. Elie Armenian Catholic Cathedral | Debbas Square – Saifi | 20:00

- Saturday 6 December 2014
ArtOn String Quartet
Ondin Brezeanu & Silviu Gabriel Gherasimescu, Violin
Hayk Ter-Hovhannisyan, Viola
Magdalena Sokola, Cello
St. Elie Church | Kantari | 20:00

- Sunday 7 December 2014
Lebanese School of Blind & Deaf Choir
All Saints Church | Minet el Hosn | 20:00

- Monday 8 December 2014
"Beethoven Sonatas" newly launched by Deutsche Grammophon
Italian violinist Francesca Dego accompanied by Francesca Leonardi, Piano
St. Maron Church | Gemmayzeh | 20:00
In collaboration with the Italian Cultural Institute.

- Tuesday 9 December 2014
Marie-Josée Matar, Soprano
Salvatore Scinaldi, Piano
Elie Njeim, Trumpet
Joe Aouad, Guitar
St. Elie Armenian Catholic Cathedral | Debbas Square – Saifi | 20:00

- Wednesday 10 December 2014
LEBAM
St. George Maronite Cathedral | Riad El Solh, Facing Azarieh | 20:00

- Thursday 11 December 2014
Abeer Nehmeh, Vocal
St. Elie Greek Catholic Cathedral | Nejmeh Square | 20:00

- Friday 12 December 2014
Lebanese Philharmonic Orchestra
Daniele Rustioni, Conductor & Francesca Dego, Violin
St. George Maronite Cathedral | Riad El Solh, Facing Azarieh | 20:00
In collaboration with the Lebanese National Higher Conservatory of Music
and the Italian Cultural Institute.

- Saturday 13 December 2014
St. Romanos Choir, Conducted by Reverend Romanos Romanos
St. George Orthodox Cathedral | Nejmeh Square | 20:00

- Sunday 14 December 2014
Sagesse St. John Children Choir, Conducted by Nelly Maatouk
St. Louis Capuchin Church | Bab Idriss | 18:00

Byzantine Traditional Christmas
St. Stephanos The Melode Choir, Conducted by Bachir Osta
St. Elie Greek Catholic Cathedral | Nejmeh Square | 20:00

- Monday 15 December 2014
Vadym Kholodenko, Piano
St. Louis Capuchin Church | Bab Idriss | 20:00
Winner of the 2013 Van Cliburn International Piano Competition Gold Medal.

- Tuesday 16 December 2014
Fayha Choir, Conducted by Barkev Taslakian
St. Elie Church | Kantari | 20:00


- Wednesday 17 December 2014
Matteo el Khodr, Countertenor
St. Louis Capuchin Church | Bab Idriss | 20:00

- Thursday 18 December 2014
Maronite Traditional Christmas
Ghada Shbeir, Vocals
St. Elie Church | Kantari | 20:00

- Friday 19 December 2014
Traditional Christmas Concert of the Lebanese Philharmonic Orchestra
The Lebanese Philharmonic Orchestra
The choirs of the National Conservatory, the Antonine University & NDU
Felicitas Fuchs, Soprano
Conducted by Harout Fazlian
St. Joseph Church | Monot | 20:30
In collaboration with the Lebanese National Higher Conservatory of Music.

- Saturday 20 December 2014
Gargatch Children Choir, Conducted by Zakar Keshishian
National Evangelical Church | Serail |18:00

The Festival Concert “A Talented Duo”
Sari Khalifé, Cello & Ayad Khalifé, Piano
St. Elie Church | Kantari | 20:00

- Sunday 21 December 2014
La Chanterie de Beyrouth
National Evangelical Church | Serail |18:00

String Quartet of San Carlo Opera House – Napoli
Cecilia Laca & Luigi Buonomo, Violin
Antonio Bossone, Viola
Luca Signorini, Cello
St. Louis Capuchin Church | Bab Idriss | 20:00
In collaboration with the Italian Cultural Institute.

- Monday 22 December 2014
Petite Messe Solennelle – G. Rossini – Orchestral Version
Artemisa Repa, Soprano
Rosa Bove, Mezzosoprano
Cristian Ricci, Tenor
Raymond Ghattas, Tenor
The choirs of Antonine University & NDU
Beirut Chants Orchestra, Conducted by Stefano Romani
St. Maron Church | Gemmayzeh | 20:00
In collaboration with the Italian Cultural Institute.

- Tuesday 23 – Closing Concert
"Les Litanies de la Vierge"
Ensemble Correspondances, dirigé par Sébastien Daucé
St. Maron Church | Gemmayzeh | 20:00
En partenariat avec la Ville de Lyon et l’Institut français de Paris.


Free entrance to all.