This event has passed.
  • Wednesday Feb 06 2013 from 06:00 pm until 09:00 pm
  • Thursday Feb 07 2013 until Saturday Feb 09 2013 from 12:00 pm until 08:00 pm
  • Monday Feb 11 2013 until Saturday Feb 16 2013 from 12:00 pm until 08:00 pm
  • Monday Feb 18 2013 until Saturday Feb 23 2013 from 12:00 pm until 08:00 pm
  • Monday Feb 25 2013 until Saturday Mar 02 2013 from 12:00 pm until 08:00 pm
  • Monday Mar 04 2013 until Saturday Mar 09 2013 from 12:00 pm until 08:00 pm
  • Monday Mar 11 2013 until Saturday Mar 16 2013 from 12:00 pm until 08:00 pm
  • Monday Mar 18 2013 until Saturday Mar 23 2013 from 12:00 pm until 08:00 pm
  • Monday Mar 25 2013 until Saturday Mar 30 2013 from 12:00 pm until 08:00 pm
  • Monday Apr 01 2013 until Saturday Apr 06 2013 from 12:00 pm until 08:00 pm
  • Beirut Art Center
  • Exhibitions, Arts & Culture

"Groundwork" by Jananne Al-Ani and "Now Here Then Elsewhere" by Eric Baudelaire

Beirut Art Center is pleased to present Groundwork, a solo exhibition of seminal works by the Iraqi-born artist, Jananne Al-Ani.

In 2009 Al-Ani presented the video installation, A Loving Man (1996-9) in Closer, Beirut Art Center’s opening show. Four years later the artist is back for her first solo exhibition in Lebanon. In this survey exhibition Al-Ani focuses on landscape, seeking to expose and also challenge the orientalist fantasy of the Middle East as an unoccupied place with no history. Other works that will be exhibited address the prominent role of aerial reconnaissance in twentieth-century warfare while exploring the relationship between the technologies of photography and film and contemporary conflict.

For more details please check:
http://www.beirutartcenter.org/exhibitions.php?exhibid=329&statusid=2

Beirut Art Center is pleased to present Now Here Then Elsewhere, a solo exhibition by Eric Baudelaire.

Now Here Then Elsewhere is an multi-media exhibition of films, photographs and works on paper that revolves around the post-68 era of radicalism and the presence of the Japanese Red Army (JRA) in the Palestinian camps in Lebanon. The lives of Fusako Shigenobu, the founder and former leader of the JRA, May Shigenobu, Fusako’s daughter with a Palestinian guerilla fighter, and Masao Adachi, a Japanese screenwriter/director and former member of the JRA are at the heart of Eric Baudelaire’s exhibition.

At 6pm, Diane Dufour, Director of LE BAL will present the artists Eric Baudelaire and Jananne Al-Ani who will debate the critical function of documentary practices in the specific context of past and current conflict zones.

For more details please check:
http://www.beirutartcenter.org/exhibitions.php?exhibid=330&statusid=2

This event is on facebook