This event has passed.
  • Thursday Sep 13 2012 from 06:00 pm until 09:00 pm
  • Friday Sep 14 2012 until Saturday Sep 15 2012 from 11:00 am until 07:00 pm
  • Monday Sep 17 2012 until Saturday Sep 22 2012 from 11:00 am until 07:00 pm
  • Monday Sep 24 2012 until Saturday Sep 29 2012 from 11:00 am until 07:00 pm
  • Monday Oct 01 2012 until Saturday Oct 06 2012 from 11:00 am until 07:00 pm
  • Monday Oct 08 2012 until Thursday Oct 11 2012 from 11:00 am until 07:00 pm
  • Art Circle, Commodore Street, Hamra, Beirut
  • Exhibitions, Arts & Culture

"Rêve-évolution" by Rania Moudaress Silva
opens on Thursday September 13, starting 6 pm
exhibition runs until October 11, 2012

Rania Moudaress Silva presents a series of female portraits inspired by a selection of persons and social concerns that are part of her direct and indirect environment. As implied by the French-two-word-title given to her exhibition, dreams and reality mingle in the artist’s mind; her reveries, put on paper, are her feminine revolution. Moudaress tackles in this exhibition the notion of the dream and its evolution; she narrows the gap between the conscious and the unconscious and connects them in a natural way.

The artist chooses to go back to the essence of nature: womanhood. For her, a woman represents nature on all levels and contains it all in one place. A woman is as powerful and nurturing as nature. The artist takes us on a journey where nature and feminine faces become tangled. In the depicted portraits, lines are constructed in a very visible way, giving the faces a geometrical edge, becoming part of the natural landscape, almost like a rocky mountain. Birds are seen nesting and resting on those lines, and become sometimes an integral part of the composition. Floral elements invade the faces as they mix in and become one with it.

Born in Damascus in 1981, Rania Moudaress graduated from the École Supérieure des Arts et Mode in Paris as well as from the Paris American Academy of Fashion and Art. Apart from being a visual artist, Moudaress is also a costume and graphic designer. She participated in several collective exhibitions and held a solo exhibition at the Fateh Moudaress Atelier. "Rêve-évolution" at Art Circle gallery is her first solo show in Beirut.

This event is on facebook